Home

Canon 85mm 1.8 test

Canon - EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Medium Telephoto Lens - Black. Model: 2519A003. SKU: 8551186. Rating, 4.8 out of 5 with 425 reviews (425) Compare. Save. Price Match Guarantee. $349.99 Your price for this item is $349.99. Save $70. Was $419.99. The previous price was $419.99. Add to Cart CANON EF 85MM f/1.8 (USM) LENS - U.S.A. What makes a good telephoto lens? Well, sure, good clarity is a start. What the CANON EF 85MM f/1.8 (USM) Lens offers in addition to that is a stunning amount of precision, speed and compression, even when handling a range of different subjects in any kind of lighting conditions. Product Highlights. The Canon 85mm f/1.8 offers plenty of versatility. Fast f/1.8 Aperture Normal Angle. The fast f/1.8 aperture is great in low light, and keeps you shooting everywhere between the dim and the dark. The 85mm focal length offers a slight tele field of view that's perfect for portrait and still-life photography. Higher Quality Standards

Looking for a good value in a small, light, great performing, fast lens? Try the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens. The Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens is relatively inexpensive but yields very good image quality. Discussions. Re-posting. I am sorry, but this group really needs to ban re-posting! As do every other Ca.. Center Sharpness for the Canon 85mm f/1.8 on both the Canon 20D and 5D are shown in Figure 1 to be very similar. Using DxO's Blur Scale, the center portions of the images are "Sharp" in the f/2.8-f/16 range. Diffraction degradation renders the f/22 centers to be "Slight Blurred" for this lens. At f/1.8 and f/2, the images are also "Slightly Blurred". All in all, the Center Sharpness for the Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens is very good. The test of the Canon EF 85 mm f/1.8 USM was published in April 2006 and it was conducted on the EOS 20D body with the sensor smaller than full frame. It didn't answer such questions, so important nowadays, as the performance on the edge of full frame. We decided to catch up and check how the lens would cooperate with the Canon EOS 1Ds MkIII I didn't find myself using the 85 f/1.8 very much after getting the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM Lens. Although 1 1/3 stop slower, I found the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM Lens to be far more versatile.

DXOMARK Score ?

What is the difference between Canon EF 100mm F/2.8 Macro USM and Canon EF 85mm F/1.8 USM? Find out which is better and their overall performance in the Canon camera lens ranking The 85mm f/1.8 (left) and the 85mm f/1.2L II (right) The EF 85mm lenses are a group of medium telephoto prime lenses made by Canon Inc. that share the same focal length. These lenses have an EF type mount that fits the Canon EOS line of cameras The build quality of the Tamron SP 85mm f/1.8 Di VC USD is very solid. Out of the box, it is certainly an attractive design as well. However, we are not the biggest fans of the smooth finish because it tends to scratch easily and ages faster than -say- Canon's textured variant

Canon EF 85mm f/1

Lens Metric Scores ?

LensHero compares the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM vs the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM to find out which is the winner. Key differences include: length, min focal length, diameter, max focal length and weigh This is a wonderful lens. I have owned only two lenses that exhibited "Leica" quality images (this "sparkle" or 3-D quality is evident even in 4" x 6" prints)--and this is one of them. (The other one was the Rollei 35.) Any time I need a short telephoto and a top-quality picture, I reach for this lens. Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II (left) and EF 85mm f/1.8: Externally, the Mark I and Mark II EF 85mm f/1.2L lenses look identical. Information on lens size, weight and price. Lenses used in test: EF 85mm f/1.2L II (Manufactured March, 2006, purchased new Fast apeture, fast focus, sharp @ 1.8, Beautiful blur. I really like this little gem. It makes an excellent portrait lens. The hood is a must to cut flair and and richen colors and contrast. Excellent lens everyone should have one in their bag.

What do you get when you compare three classic prime lenses: the Canon 85mm F/1.2, 85mm F/1.4, and F/1.8? Photographer David Flores found out when he recently put the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, Canon EF 85mm f/1.4L IS USM, and Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM lenses through their paces in a portrait shootout on New York City's Coney Island Canon nFD 85 f/1.2L - $ 665.-Canon nFD 85 f/1.8 - $ 180.-Size and handling. The 85L is heavy. Twice the weight of the 85/1.8. Unless you want to workout while taking pictures the 85/1.8 the best option weight/size wise. The focussing is smooth on both, but the aperture ring is a little harder to turn on the 85L. Not really a big issue, though Figure 15. Maximum and Average Chromatic Aberration for Canon 85mm f/1.8 and Canon 70-200mm f/4L @ 70mm The NIKKOR Z 85mm f/1.8 S's 85mm perspective is within the sweet spot for portraits and fashion, rendering faces naturally and beautifully, free of distortion. Eye-Detection AF Z series' outstanding Eye-AF and the NIKKOR Z 85mm f/1.8 S's extreme sharpness ensure your portraits and headshots will have tack-sharp focus right where you want it. The lenses were the Canon EF 85/1.8 USM, a Russian Jupiter-9 Sonnar 85mm f2 (manual focus, M42 mount), a Canon EF 24-105/4L IS zoom and the Canon EF 70-300/4-5.6IS. The two zooms were wide open to achieve f4, while the two primes were stopped down to reach the same f4 aperture

Canon 85mm F/1.8 Lens - ebay Official Sit

  1. Canon 5D Mk2 + 85mm 1.8 + 24-70mm 2.8 L. PHP 38,000. Canon 5D Mk2 7/10 condition Heavily used, port rubber covers missing Includes 1 battery and charger Shutter count - 355838 25k Canon 24-70 2.8 L 4/10 condition Dented UV filter 20k Canon 85 1.8 5/10 condition 9k Sold as is Everything works Please test before deciding Fixed price Package 40
  2. e a good, better, and best. If you were to lab test each..
  3. An application where the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens shines is indoor and low light photography. The 85mm focal length and wide aperture make the 85 f/1.8 a great church or stage lens. With its wide aperture and fast focusing, the 85 f/1.8 works well for indoor Sports.
  4. Competitors . There is now quite a few 85mm lenses on the market, from a hundred bucks to almost two thousands. Here are a few examples: Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 ($349); Canon EF 85mm f/1.4 IS USM ($1599); Canon EF 85mm f/1.2 II USM ($1800); Neewer 85mm f/1.8 ($99) - Manual lens; Opteka 85mm f/1.8 ($99) - Manual lens; So this Yongnuo 85mm f/1.8 is very welcome in this price range ($150-$200)
  5. Canon offers a wide range of compatible supplies and accessories that can enhance your user experience with you EF 85mm f/1.8 USM that you can purchase direct. Scroll down to easily select items to add to your shopping cart for a faster, easier checkout. Visit the Canon Online Stor
  6. The Yongnuo 85mm f/1.8 covers a 136mm equivalent focal length on an APS-C body and comprises 9 elements in 6 groups. It also offers 8 diaphragm blades, just like the Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens. 85mm is a favorite lens of many photographers
  7. The Canon 85mm f/1.8 wins the Distortion test hands-down, while the Canon 70-200mm f/4L @ 70mm has the poorest Distortion performance. (Not unsurprising for a zoom lens, even one as good as the.

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon 85mm f/1.8 vs. 85mm f/1.4L IS The 85/1.4L is sharper at the widest apertures; it's going to be 'night and day' on your screen depending on camera resolution, but the 85/1.8 USM (and almost every lens you can buy today) is still certainly competent for web output The Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens is relatively inexpensive but yields very good image quality. It is reasonably sharp wide open, but really shines from f/2.8 on. I purchased this lens after reading many of the opinions here, and reviews. My first time out with the lens was an outdoor concert which it handled well. I have course have to learn how to zoom with my feet. The second outing was a bike race. Once I figured out that 2.8/3.2 are best for fast moving action, the pics were sharp and spot on. For portraits and bokeh shots, this lens is great. No problems there at all. The 28-135mm IS USM sits in the bag now, and th 85mm spends most of it's time on the 30D body. Image Samples: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tallchocolateguy/2556868900/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/tallchocolateguy/2554585711/in/photostream/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/tallchocolateguy/2548649953/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/tallchocolateguy/2539021435/

Canon 85mm f/1.8 Review - Ken Rockwel

The Canon FD 1.2/85 Aspherical usually sells for around $600 used at ebay.com (affiliate link). In Germany you can buy it used for around 650€ at ebay.de (affiliate link). Image Samples. Versions. The Canon FD 85mm 1:1.2 S.S.C. ASPHERICAL was released in 1976 and features 9 aperture blades.; It's successor was the Canon FD 85mm 1:1.2 L which has only 8 aperture blades but as far as I know. This lens does seem as sharp as the Nikkor 85 I once had, but it's a great lens with exceptional build + focus. I really love using it. Two nagging downsides are ... 1. at f1.8, there's noticeable purple fringing 2. it doesn't offer as much magification as an 135L or 85L making some real world shots an issue ... often, I just want to get closer, but this lens won't go there. Anyone considering this lens should also consider the 100 usm as well. Canon 85mm Battle | 85mm 1.2L vs. 85mm 1.4L vs. 85mm 1.8 Wendell Weithers , 2 years ago The benefit of buying into an established system such as Canon is the availability of options at nearly every conceivable focal length

A while back I was having intermittent problems just on a Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM lens. All my other lenses work fine. Sporadically I would get, Communications between the camera and lens is faulty. Clean the contacts. It seemed humidity played a part but I could never consistently reproduce the prob.. I've got the Canon 100 f2.8 L macro lens, but have been eyeing the 85mm and 135mm for some time. I will be skipping the 85 1.2L, but it seems the Sigma 85 1.4 and Canon 1.8 are very comparable, whereas the Canon is much smaller/lighter and cheaper! Then of course there is the 135 F2 which everyone loves

While the best autofocus 85mm lens setup I have ever used was the combination of a Zeiss 85 f/1.8 Batis on a Sony A7R II, the Tamron did not disappoint on the Canon 5D Mark III, locking in and. We have 3 rules and only 3 rules: 1. Only post photos that you took. This is common sense. 2. No Porn !. 3. Only post a maximum of 5 photos per day. This is common courtesy. A highly practical medium telephoto lens with superb delineation and portability. Images are sharp and clear at all apertures. Through computer simulations, the lens has been designed to give beautiful background blur. Compared to the maker's own FE 85mm F1.4 GM lens, and the rival Zeiss Batis 85mm F1.8, respectively, the new lens offers similar levels of performance. All three perform similarly at f/1.8, with the new Sony displaying high central sharpness along with the expected fall-off in sharpness in the outer zones. While the higher-speed G Master has slight astigmatism that may well add some.

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM - DxOMar

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM - Review / Test Repor

Most of the responses refer to portrait, but I use the 85mm f/1.8 for a number of of things. I have reluctantly conceded that the flexibility of the zoom beats the perceived (and often real) better IQ of most primes. Sort of like bringing a knife to a gun fight. I utterly depend on the 85mm f/1.8 to cover VB and BK in dismal gyms The Tamron SP 85mm f/1.8 Di VC USD is an incredibly sharp prime lens in a classic portrait focal length,featuring an image stabilization system that sets it apart from the competition One of Canon's Oldie But A Goodie Lens: The 85mm f/1.8. In this article, we will be reviewing the Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM lens. I was fortunate enough to rent this lens for the weekend, thanks to Samys Camera!They're a local camera shop in my area that services all camera brands as well as supplies, accessories, and rentals There are some events in the near future where I would like to have a fast 85mm lens for. From a price perspective there are just two options: the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM and the Sigma 85mm F1,4 EX DG HSM. The Canon 85L 1.2 is out. I simple can't justify the expense. Build Quality. Let's start with the Canon lens here Introduction The Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM is one of Canon's classic portrait tele lenses. In the APS-C DSLR scope the field-of-view resembles a 136mm lens here. The lens features a ring-type USM AF drive (rear focusing) with full-time manual focusing in one-shot AF mode. AF speed feels extremely fast with this lens

After buying the 100mm f/2.0 and falling in love with it, I decided to get the lens everyone was suggesting for a good cheap prime, the 85mm f/1.8. While I am not disappointed with the lens, I see it as a 85mm f/2.2 because that is where the lens really becomes usable. Now f/1.8 or f/2.0 are not terrible, and if the light is so off that I have to use it or get a blurred shot, I will open this lens to the max and take the shot. But if I can get by with it I always use f/2.2 for the max aperature setting and I become very happy. If I could get the sharpness of f/2.2 with the bokeh of f/1.8, I would consider this lens unbeatable. Canon RF 85mm f/1.2L USM Lens. Two new Canon RF lens patents have been filed for Canon EOS R and EOS RP mirrorless cameras: RF 85mm f/1.8 and RF 100mm f/2.8. These are probably non-L lenses and we hope the 100mm is a macro glass If you fail to do so you should be aware that we are going to process your data according to our Privacy Policy. In this document you can find more information concerning browser settings and the way we and our social network, advertising and analytics partners process your data. With a superb combination of optics, performance, advanced features and a durable design, the EF 85mm f/1.4L IS USM is an outstanding L-series medium-telephoto lens. As Canon's first 85mm L-series lens with IS capability, it has an advanced optical formula with a large-diameter aspherical lens, plus a bright f/1.4 maximum aperture to deliver. In Figure 19, the Canon 85mm f/1.8 has a better Shading performance than does the Tamron 90mm f/2.8. Even so, both lenses have quite acceptable Shading performances.

Canon's gargantuan 85mm f/1.2L II, released in 2006, is a legend. Perhaps, then, it isn't odd that Canon wouldn't seek to outright replace it when it released a new L-series 85mm Note that Canon's EF 85mm f/1.8 dates back to the times when we were using film-cameras, and that Nikon's 85mm f/1.8 is a rather new lens. The test-shots where made during the golden hour, using ISO 800 on both cameras: I set both cameras to aperture priority and focused on the same spot of Dennis's eye Canon EF 85mm f/1.8, EF 100mm f/2 and EF135mm f/2 lenses Data shown were from tests run with all 3 lenses at the same time. The EF 100 and 135 were purchased new in 2007 for the test. The EF 85mm was puchased in 2001 and has been used heaviliy since then Now THIS is a lens after my taste :) Very very sharp even wide open - I really don´t notice any improvement by stopping down. Great color and contrast. Creamy bokeh. Fast and very accurate AF. Very compact size and relatively light weight. I love to use this lens for portraits in studio settings, but also at informal gatherings to pick out faces from the crowd (I use it on a 30d). It´s also nice as a small tele solution for landscape shooting. It even combines nicely with my Kenko 1,4 TC - although some contrast is lost there, but the sharpness remains great, especially stopped down a little. And the best: it´s cheap, I payed EUR 300 for mine (used). Compare this to the offerings of other brands - Canon is really nice to us here ;) My only two complaints: - CA wide open (rather purple fringing?) - my copy seems to overexpose outdoors, which can be easily handled with -2/3 EC. Actually, the Canon 85mm F/1.8 is a great portrait lens on a budget, it costs around $370 new, and about your question about a good lens for real estate photography Actually it's hard to find a good wide angle lens under $600, however, it's not impossible so here is my recommended lenses for real estate photography. -Samyang 14mm -Tokina 11-16 F2.

Canon EF 85 mm f/1.8 USM review - Introduction - LensTip.co

  1. Figure 6 reveals that the Canon 85mm f/1.2L is slightly better than the Canon 85mm f/1.8 for Average (overall) Chromatic Aberration; while it (the f/1.2L) significantly outperforms the f/1.8 in the Maximum Chromatic Aberration results. This is because chromatic aberration in the f/1.8 lens is mostly confined to the corners of the frame.
  2. See all notification
  3. der: does not support live view focusing Package Include. 1 x Yongnuo 85mm prime Lens for Canon; 1 x Lens Hood 1 x User Manual 1 x Lens Ba

This is a remarkable value in an inexpensive lens. Great for available-light shooting and portraiture. Bought it to use on Canon 5d, and its image quality seems to be a good match for the full-frame sensor.This is my favourite Canon prime lens. Fairly compact, very good optics (even wide open) and quick and quiet in operation. It is not heavy either, which is an advantage when carrying lots of gear for long periods. The only worry is that the little catches on the lens hood seem a bit small and weak, but I have had the lens and hood for quite a few years now so maybe the impression is unfounded.The Center Sharpness curves of Figure 8 for the Canon 85mm and the Canon 50mm indicate very similar Center Sharpness performances by the two lenses in the f/2.8-f/22 range. At f/1.8 and f/2, the 50mm lens is just perceptibly sharper in the center than the 85mm. The situation is much the same for Corner Sharpness, where the two lenses are essentially identical for f/4-f/22, while the 85mm lens has significantly better corner performance at f/1.8-f/2. An 85mm f/1.8 doesn't sound impressive on paper, but this is exactly the type of lens that makes sense for the smaller profile of a mirrorless camera. It is compact, lightweight, and economical.

Video: Canon EF 85 mm f/1.8 USM review - Image - LensTip.co

Canon 85mm f1.8 video test - YouTub

An excellent portrait lens on a full frame body. Quite sharp all the way from f/2.8 to f/16. The ultrasonic ring motor is both fast and quiet, and since focusing is entirely internal, the lens is inherently sturdier than lenses with extending front elements. This is one of my favorite prime lenses for full-frame Canon bodies. It is compact and light enough to be very comfortable to use. I don't have the 100mm f/2.0, but apparently it's similar both mechanically and optically, so I'd consider that lens as a good alternative, if you prefer a slightly longer focal length. Another option to consider is the 100mm f/2.8 macro. While the macro has better sharpness, I find the wider apertures of the 85mm to be useful in some situations. Canon offers the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM (£339), Nikon the AF-S Nikkor 85mm f/1.8G (£430) and Tamron the SP 85mm f/1.8 Di VC USD with image stabilisation (£749) Since comparisons to camera brand 85mm lens are inevitable, lets get right to them. Since I'm testing the Canon version of Tamron's lens, Canon's EF 85mm f/1.8 USM lens is 2.81-inches long, vs. the Tamron's 3.59-inches that weighs 1.54 pounds compared to the EF's 0.93 pounds. The Tamron has 67mm filter threads, Canon's is 58mm Shading by the Canon 85mm f/1.8 and the Canon 100mm f/2.8 is the same over the f/4-f/22 aperture range. The higher shading by the 100mm lens at f/2.8 is significant, but not unexpected, as most lenses exhibit increased shading at their widest aperture, as does the 85mm at f/1.8-2.

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Review - Imaging Resourc

  1. EF 85mm f/1.8 USM; EF Prime Lenses. Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Specifications Shop Now. Features Back to top. Back to top. Overview Specification Ratings & Reviews Accessories & Supplies Support Left Right. 35MM FILM EQUIVALENT FOCAL LENGTH. IMAGE STABILIZER. Print Specification. 35MM FILM EQUIVALENT FOCAL LENGTH.
  2. g, fast lens? Try the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens.
  3. Standard & Medium Telephoto Lens. Disclaimer $17 Instant Savings - Offer valid April 27, 2020 12:00 a.m. through May 31, 2020 11:59 p.m. ET. Offer valid in U.S.A. only, and void where prohibited, taxed or restricted. Availability of certain items may be limited. Limit of ten of any one item per order, subject to availability
  4. Everything about this lens is great, and definitely worth buying, except for the purple fringing. In high contrast scenes (think trees against white sky, or specular reflections) it is *really* bad. So know to avoid those, and everything will be fantastic.
  5. The Maximum CA and Average CA performances by the Canon 85mm and Canon 100mm are not significantly different over the f/2.8-f/22 aperture range they share.
  6. imum vignetting and negligible chromatic aberration. If I had a gun to my head and I had to choose strictly based on.

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens Revie

Great lens. I can't really add anything that hasn't already been said. It's also a great value. Good price for a lens that performs this well.get it if you need this forcal length. there is no better lens than this , I sold my 70-200f4LIS to get this one since I needed a inconspicuous , samll lens for street and PJ work. First Impressions of the New Tokina atx-m 85mm f/1.8 AF Lens . The Lens You Keep . After having a sample of the new Tokina atx-m 85mm f/1.8 AF lens for full frame Sony E mount for two weeks and having taken well over a thousand photos with it I can share with you my first impression of the lens Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens x1, E-58U 58mm Snap-On Lens Cap x1, Lens Dust Cap E Rear x On the Canon 5D, the Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens exhibits quite acceptable Chromatic Aberration, while the CA performance on the Canon 20D is more nearly average. The Chromatic Aberration characteristics of the Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens are perhaps slightly better than average overall.

Latest owners opinions

In Figure 17, the Center and Corner Sharpness for both the Canon 85mm f/1.8 and the Tamron 90mm f/2.8 are essentially the same. Each lens shows a typical increase in Sharpness at its lowest aperture.The content of Table 3 indicates that the Canon 85mm f/1.8 ($340) is outperformed by the Canon 85mm f/1.2L ($1790); slightly outperforms the Canon 50mm f/1.8 ($80) and the Tamron 90mm f/2.8 ($489); and equals the Canon 100mm f/2.8 ($470) and the Canon 70-200mm f/4L @ 70mm ($1060). A very close competition, indeed.(As noted in the introductory paragraph above though, the pronounced softness in the corners may actually be a benefit for some types of shooting, portraits in particular.)

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Medium Telephoto Lens Black ..

The Canon 85mm f/1.8 exhibits significantly better Chromatic Aberration performance for the wider apertures, f/1.8 and f/2. But for apertures f/4-f/22, the 50mm lens is a significantly better CA performer than the 85mm. Buy your 85MM Canon 1.8 now. prices & deals subject to change. 85mm Canon 1.8 At half the price of Canon's surprisingly sharp 85mm f/1.8 USM (~$200 vs Canon's ~$400), nobody was expecting an identical lens in every regard. So the question becomes, Where does the. Image Quality: Full-Frame Portraits. I tested the EF 85mm with the 50MP full-frame Canon EOS 5DS R.It delivers crisp, sharp results from edge to edge, even when shot at f/1.4 This is really a great lens. I remain blissfully unaware of what life is like for 85L shooters, but I have a hard time imagining how much better it really can be. I guess an extra stop is important, but for 4x the cost I don't think I'll ever try it - the 85/1.8 is too good in so many categories. I really wish Canon could construct a lens of this quality at 50mm.

Re: Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM for sports? For outdoors shots in leaping where there's enough available light, you can purchase Canon's EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM for a starter zoom since the more popular 70-200 2.8L or 4L IS is beyond your reach currently this is on one of oldest and the cheapest lens (beside 50mm 1.8). Though the image quality, sharpness and blur are just excellent. I also own Canon 70-200mm 2.8 IS II L, but for the general portraits use 85mm in most cases

60D 85mm 1.8 worth it if you have the 50mm1.8?: Canon EOS ..

The SP 85mm F/1.8 is designed to provide tack-sharpness of the subject for stunning clarity and flawless image quality. At the same time, Tamron's design philosophy embraces the notion that photographers—particularly portrait photographers—use background blur, bokeh, as a creative element to concentrate emphasis on the subject For example the Canon EF 85 mm f/1.8 USM features the same number of elements even if it was launched in 1992. But if the almost thirty-year-old Canon can cost $370 and the Nikkor AF-S 85 mm f/1.8 G - over $470, Sony hadn't the smallest scruples to ask for their novelty as much as $575 Yes! It works brilliantly! I use the 85mm f/1.8 on my Rebel T5i and I love the pictures I take with this lens. Definitely the lens that creates the most blurry background out of all my lenses (4 zooms + 3 primes). If you've seen the performance of..

Tamron SP 85mm f/1.8 Di VC USD - Review / Test Repor

  1. best bargain lens if you need this forcal length. it is sharper than most of other lenses , I also have used the Nikon 85f1.8D and I think both are good but the Canon AF is much better due to its Ring USM. I dont see any reason to pay a lot more for the 1.2L2 lens when this cheap lens is so good already. the best candid street lens IMHO.
  2. I love this lens! Light, fast, and a great focal length - it's a smooth and efficient tool in my arsenal. I really hate the lens hood. I broke one of the clips the first day, and while I still keep it on, it is a constant nuisance. Yeah, it's got fringing wide open, but it's a small price to pay for such an excellent lens.
  3. review: Bokeh of the Canon EF 85mm f/1.4L IS lens. In the accompanying review article, the Canon 85mm f/1.4L IS lens () really stood out in terms of image sharpness.Here I want to linger a bit on the bokeh of this lens, especially as compared to the much-loved Canon 85mm f/1.2L II ().. The comparison includes these three lenses, since they are in the same league
  4. Shading by the Canon 85mm and Canon 70-200mm @ 70mm lenses is very good for both lenses in the f/5.6-f/22 range. At f/4, the 70-200mm lens does exhibit exaggerated Shading as does the 85mm at f/1.8-2. That said, the Shading performances by the two lenses are quite acceptable.
  5. - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - advertisement - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - One thing is also worth mentioning here. The specimen, tested in 2006, was provided by Cyfrowe.pl and returned to that shop after the test. The specimen tested on full frame was bought over a year ago in one of shops in Warsaw. It was one single specimen available in that shop – it means you couldn’t pick and choose among many different lenses to find the best. Both tested devices performed differently in our tests and in the next chapters we are going to present the results we obtained in 2006 and now, for another specimen of the tested lens. You are also invited to get acquainted with our test procedure, described in the article "How do we test lenses?" If you feel it’s still not enough, please go to our FAQ section where you can find some further explanation.

This is one of my favorite lens... before i replaced it with 100L mm macro. For the price, the build quality is good, if not outstanding. Focus ring is decent, but there other lenses with better focus ring. The focal length is great for blurring background, in which this lens shine even though it cannot matched the bokeh quality of 135L, but hey it's far cheaper. At 85 mm (which translates to 136 mm on APS-C body), this lens is not the most versatile. Filter thread size is easy to find; 58 mm and not the most expensive out there. This is a great lens, if you need 85 mm lens. The 85 mm f1.2 does cost you a fortune! Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Telephoto Lens Review Sean Webster Leave a comment First introduced back in July of 1992, the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM medium telephoto lens has been the go to lens of portrait photographers for decades Nikkor Z 85mm f/1.8 S review: Introduction. The arrival of the Z 50 into the ever-expanding Z series was an ideal time for Nikon to reveal its forthcoming plans for its Z mount lens lineup. The updated roadmap tells us there will be another DX-format lens - an 18-140mm (equivalent to 27-210mm) joining the two DX format zooms that were released with the Z 50 The AF certainly is fast, but It's not instantaneous. It's Sharp and Very good wide open, but there are CA issues. The very long minimum focus distance and low magnification is quite annoying if you are a macro lover. If you shoot sports or other fast moving subjects this is an outstanding lens. It's good for portraiture if you like the focal length.

Tamron 85mm f/1.8 Di VC USD Lens Revie

  1. I don't own the lens, but tried it extensively before deciding for it's longer twin, the 100mm f2. I liked it very much for it's IQ (sharpness and colors), but also for it's compact size, perfect on the 350D (Rebel XT). The fast f:1.8 was great for my use (indoor portraits and concert pictures), but this lens was too close to my EF-S 60mm macro, and I finally bought the 100mm which is great. The only negative comment I could make on the lens is its quite pronounced CA in high contrast zones (purple fringing) wide open, and still visible at f2.8. My 100mm seems less affected by the problem. Nevertheless, it appears only in some particular situations, and can be corrected in PP. It is definitely a lens I would highly recommend (like 99% of the users I believe...), even more when you take a look at its price...
  2. Related Manuals for Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM. Lenses Canon EF14mm f/2.8L USM Instructions (2 pages) Camera Lens Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM Instructions. Ultrasonic ef lenses (2 pages) Camera Lens Canon EF135mm f/2L USM User Manual. Ef lens ultrasonic high-performance telephoto lenses designed for eos cameras (26 pages).
  3. Fast and Free Shipping On Many Items You Love On eBay. But Did You Check eBay? Check Out Canon 85mm F/1.8 Lens On eBay
  4. Prime lenses in this focal length range have always been great choices for portrait photography, because of the tendency of the moderate telephoto focal length to slightly "flatten" facial features, avoiding the problem of too-big noses in frontal shots taken with wider-angle lenses. In the digital era (at least with sub-frame cameras), the 85mm focal length of this lens gets a little long for that usage (you'll end up having to stand off quite a distance from your model), but the favorable effect of a long focal length continues to make the attractive choices for that sort of work. In fact, the Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM seems to be almost ideally suited for portrait shooting, as its very wide aperture really helps to blur out distracting backgrounds, and its soft corners (which might otherwise be considered a defect) can help to isolate a portrait subject near the middle of the frame. While far from a perfect optic, the 85mm may be one of the better portrait lenses on the market: Read on below for all the details from our testing.
  5. The Canon EF 85mm f/1.4L IS USM lens is priced at £1569. Canon offer two alternatives, the EF 85mm f/1.8 USM at £327 and the EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM at £1748. Looking at alternative lenses from.

Amazon.com: canon 85mm 1.8

WDC Review of the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM. Rather than testing Canon's f/1.8 lens we might have looked at the f/1.2L version instead - were it not for the £2,640 price tag It is no wonder this lens is highly respected by the Canon community. Although it does not have any special glass, it is amazingly sharp and produces a very beautiful bokeh. What is simply amazing, is its price. This prime is also lightweight and therefore can be easily added to your bag without having your back (and wallet!) suffer the consequences. The DOF at 1.8 is quite narrow, but in general the focusing is excellent. The CA at 1.8 is troubling, but easily fixed by software. By f4 the lens already peaks and the quality of the colors produced is surprising. This lens is cheaper than the comparable 100 f2 and can be used with either Full Frame or 1.6x sensors. There is just no downside here. You can check many images taken with this lens here: http://www.pbase.com/cameras/canon/ef_85_18uI use it with my Canon 5D Mark II for portrait. Image quality, contrast & AF are better, faster then my 24-105L If you are serious of image quality, this is a cheap solution for Portrait with this range. Sample photo I have as following http://alohaeveryone.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/20100218_Canon-EOS-5D-Mark-II_model_01971-480x719.jpg

Battle of the 85mm Lenses: Canon 85mm f1

Canon U.S.A., Inc. EF 85mm f/1.8 US

Canon 2519A012AA EF 85mm F/1.8 USM Telephoto Le, Black 4.6 out of 5 stars 738 DEVMO 85mm f/1.8 Portrait Lens Compatible with Canon EOS 5D 6D 7D 50D 70D 60D SL1 T5i T4i T3i T2 Why is Samyang 85mm F/1.4 AS IF UMC better than Canon EF 85mm F/1.8 USM? 22.22% wider aperture at minimum focal length? f/1.40 vs 1.8 Tamron 85 f/1.8 VC compared to the Canon 85mm f/1.2L II (at f/2 on 5Ds R) Tamron 85 f/1.8 VC compared to the Canon 85mm f/1.8 Tamron 85 f/1.8 VC compared to the Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG (at f/2) Tamron 85 f/1.8 VC compared to the Zeiss Milvus 85mm f/1.4 (at f/2) The Nikon results are also available, but not from the equivalent camera The perfectr portrait lens is, dollar-for-dollar, better than it's "L" counterparts for general portraiture. Lightweight, fast focussing, and WOW bokeh.I bought this lens on a whim to give me something new to play with because a new 'L' lens I'd ordered hadn't shown up. It has since become possibly my favourite lens. It is now the fastest lens I own, and the only lens with which I find that 1/8000 shutter speeds sometimes aren't fast enough. It can be used in very low light. The image quality is nothing short of amazing. With some recent portrait work, I did a direct comparison with this 'old' lens and Canon's latest EF 100mm f/2.8L IS macro lens. The shots using the new 100mm macro lens were good, but the ones using the 85mm had the edge. It is extremely sharp and produces wonderful colour, contrast and bokeh. The AF is fast and accurate. With the wide aperture I don't find myself wanting or needing IS. The minimum focusing distance is 2.8ft, but add an extension tube to reduce the minimum focusing distance and you have a cheap - but very competent - entry level macro lens. Even with 100% crops of macro shots using a 25mm extension tube the 85mm f/1.8 loses none of its sharpness. With portrait work now, this is my first choice lens - even though I have 'L' lenses to choose from. I really can't praise it enough, and the more I use it, the more I like it. However, it is pointless trying to describe a lens using words and graphs. The only way is by looking at sample images. A few of my sample images can be found here: http://phil.uk.net/photography/canon_85F18.html

Both Center Sharpness and Corner Sharpness for the Canon 85mm f/1.8 and the Canon 100mm f/2.8 are essentially identical over the f/2.8-f/22 aperture range the two share. For a cheapish EF prime on a 1.6x crop this is a nice focal range for portrait, nice bokeh. Also useful for Landscape, build quality is good for a non L, its a prime just get it already.The only thing missing on this lens is the red ring. I have taken shots with this lens on my 300 and now my 350 and almost all are keepers. The shots I erase are because of composition, not quality. As I use it mostly for portrait work, on a tripod, IS is not an issue. And it is an EF lens, so when I upgrade to a 5D, I will still be able to use it. Highly recommended. Canon currently offers three different 85mm lenses: the $370 85mm f/1.8, the $1,600 85mm f/1.4L IS, and the $1,900 85mm f/1.2L II.If you're wondering how they stack up, check out this 9-minute.

Here, you can find out about Canon's EF Lenses > STANDARD & MEDIUM TELEPHOTO Lens > EF85mm f/1.8 USM As you see at the maximum relative aperture the image just brushes against full usefulness level. It’s enough you stop down the lens slightly and the image quality becomes flawless because by f/2.0 the MTF values got to almost 32 lpmm. On further stopping down the image quality improves, reaching its peak by f/5.6. The level of 40 lpmm can be hardly called record-breaking but it certainly allows to shot very sharp photos. Please Support Us The coronavirus crisis has been adversely affecting many businesses and, sad but true, ours is not an exception. Despite that difficult situation we would like to preserve continuity and high quality of publications available on all our websites. Still, we are now aware it might be impossible without additional financial help. That's why we would like to ask all those who visit, read, and care about Optyczne.pl, LensTip.com i Allbinos.com for support - it's enough you send us a small sum of money via PayPal. If a lot people decide to support our websites we think we'll stand a chance and survive next months without any lasting harm. We count on your support and understanding, stay safe and be healthy. Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Specifications Features Back to top. Back to top. Overview Specification Ratings & Reviews Accessories & Supplies Support Left Right. 35MM FILM EQUIVALENT FOCAL LENGTH. IMAGE STABILIZER. Print Specification. 35MM FILM EQUIVALENT FOCAL LENGTH. Angle of view (horzntl, vertl, diagnl). Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Medium Telephoto Lens: Get sharp, clear photos with this Canon medium telephoto lens that delivers vibrant color and clarity with fast, quiet focusing. The 85mm focal length draws attention to your subject and transforms the background into a soft blur for professional-quality portraits and impeccably detailed close-up.

(From Canon lens literature) A highly practical medium telephoto lens with superb delineation and portability. Images are sharp and clear at all apertures. Through computer simulations, the lens has been designed to give beautiful background blur. Since the front lens group does not rotate during focusing special filter effects are not affected.The Canon 85mm f/1.8 exhibits better Shading performance than that of the Canon 50mm f/1.8 over the entire aperture range of f/1.8-f/16. While this is true, the more-or-less uniform difference of 0.05 EV is probably not perceptible to even the most trained eye. Das Canon 85mm 1.8 zeigte sich im Objektiv Test mit seinen 425g und einer Länge von ca. 7,2 cm sehr leicht und kompakt. Die Verarbeitung wirkt sehr wertig und zeugt von hoher Fertigungsqualität. Die leise Fokussierung macht das Arbeiten mit dem Objektiv sehr angenehm

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Scores Specifications Measurements Tested with COMPARISON SELECTION (3 selected items max.) VIEW COMPARISON ADD MORE. Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM. Add to compare DXOMARK Score : Best at f=85mm & f/1.8 35. Lens Metric Scores : Sharpness . 23 P-Mpix. Amazingly sharp from f2.8 in center and from f4 in corners on 5d. Beautiful colours, contrast, bokeh. At 1.8 little bit CA. AF is uncompromising = super quick and accurate. Close to the Canon EF 135/2 L. A must have lens for portraits. Definetely. The Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM The 85mm f/1.8 is nearly as sharp as the Canon 85mm f/1.2L but focuses faster and is often preferred for action shots for that reason. It's also much smaller and easier to handle. A number of photographers use this lens for indoor sports in smaller venues such as high school basketball, hockey, etc What a very pleasant surprise this lens turned out to be!! Sharp - Great IQ - Great Bokeh - Very fast focussing, and it's small and light. It easliy focusses on a downhill ski racer. I use to use a 135 F2 'L' when shooting Skiers, but it's usually too long a focal length when fitted on a 40D. The 85mm cured that problem and at a bargain price. I normally use it at F2.8, and at that aperture it's 'L' prime sharp. Not much else to be said really. > A real surprise - a lens bargain that every canon owner should have in their bag. > A good1st prime lens for all 'Zoom owners' to upgrade too. > Only minor niggle I had to pay extra for a lenshood:-( but when you think of the new lens price it's still an outstanding bargain - well done Canon:-))

Bottom Line:The Canon 85mm f/1.8 is an excellent buy, probably even a best buy. Unless you require the extra stop and the slightly better optical performance of the Canon 85mm f/1.2L, you might well be happy with the f/1.8 lens -- Not to mention the extra $1450 in your pocket! It does have rather soft corners when shooting wide open, particularly on a full-frame body, but as noted (perhaps to excess), this might actually be a benefit for portrait shooters. Stopped down slightly, it delivers very good performance for anyone, at a very good price. Canon 85mm f/1.8. The Canon 85mm f/1.8 is as sharp when shot at normal apertures, but the 85/1.8 lacks stabilization. The 85/1.4 has 9 expertly-curved diaphragm blades for round bokeh and magnificent 18-pointed sunstars , while the 85/1.8 only has 8 regular blades for octagonal bokeh and dull 8 (not 18) point sunstars Hi! I bought an 85mm 1.8 last week to use on my new Canon 5D Mark II and haven't really enjoyed using the lens. It's much softer wide open than my Sigma 50mm 1.4 ART (not unexpected) and much softer than my Nikon 50mm 1.8 (unexpected) when either of them are used wide open I have both an 1100D and a 60D, along with the 'Nifty 50 1.8, a 28mm f2.8 and the 85mm f1.8 USM. Both of the cameras are crop sensor and I find the 28mm to be good for full body (with some surrounding space for cropping in post), the 50 for 3/4 length/H&S portraiture and the 85 for head and shoulders/head shots

Positioned above from left to right are the following lenses: Zeiss 85mm f/1.4 ZE Planar T* Lens Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Lens Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Lens The Tamron 85mm is two-thirds of a stop slower, at f/1.8, but still produces fabulous image quality with very good and highly consistent sharpness across the entire image frame, in a much smaller. Shading performance by the Canon 85mm on the sub-frame 20D is excellent from f/2.8 through f/22. The larger full-frame sensor of the Canon 5D reveals some higher shading for the wider apertures, but for f/5.6 and higher apertures, the Shading performance by the Canon 85mm on the 5D is quite acceptable. The Shading performance by the Canon 85mm f/1.8 merits a better-than-average rating for sub-frame cameras, a poorer-than-average rating for full-frame ones. (Again, this shortcoming may actually be a benefit for applications like portrait photography.) Make Offer - 【Near Mint】 Canon New FD 85mm f/1.8 NFD MF Portrait Lens From Japan 152 How to Choose an 85mm f/1.8 Camera Lens Meant for multiple uses and functions, especially when it comes to taking portraits, an 85mm USM lens takes impressive photos indoors or outdoors or even in low-light situations thanks to its speedy f/1.8 aperture The EF 85mm f/1.8 doesn't hold a candle to the EF 24-105mm from 24mm to 84mm and from 86 to 105mm. On the other hand, the 24-105mm is simply no comparison, literally, at f/1.8. It's like comparing an adjustable spanner (monkey wrench) to a standard one-width wrench

The King is Not Dead. The Canon 85mm f/1.2 II lens, the king of creamy bokeh, is basically a 40-year old optical design first released in 1976 (in FD mount) and released as an EF mount lens after some slight optical modification in 1989. The II version, released in 2006, was an electrical/mechanical change only, the optics remained the sam Shop B&H's in stock, large inventory for fast shipping, great service and everyday low prices on canon ef 85mm f/1.8 usm lens. For more info, please call 800-947-441

Nikon 105mm f/1

Fantastic lens for portraits and other outside work. Kind of long for inside shots on a 1.5x or 1.6x cropped camera. I don't worry about the CA issues because my raw converter program takes care of that for me. Excellent lens all around.Excellent ratio performance /price until weather condition becomes adverse rendering the lens useless due to fog deposit on glass inside the lens. It seems that USM auto focus is acting as a pump. That did not happen to my "L" lenses; still working all day long in the windy fog of Asir Mountain last month.Be sure to check out the Blur Viewer shown to the right of this report, which shows the detailed blur performance of this lens on our sub-frame Canon EOS-20D body. The plot first displayed when you bring up the viewer (f/1.8) reveals a slightly soft center and softer corners. As you move the aperture slider to show performance at smaller apertures, you will notice that the center sharpens a bit while the corners sharpen more, until the plot becomes relatively flat at f/4; then remaining so throughout the remainder of the aperture range. The Full Frame (5D) Blur Viewer reveals even softer corners on the 5D, a result of the larger sensor capturing corner detail much farther from the center of the frame. These observations will be expanded upon in the two sections (Center Sharpness, Corner Sharpness) immediately below.

Which One: Canon 50mm f1

Once I started shooting with Canon, the 85mm f/1.8 lens was the very first lens L I purchased other than the 24-105 L f/4.0 lens that came with the first Canon camera body I got. I ended up choosing it over the 85mm f/1.2 and also over alternative lenses made by other manufacturers The Meike 85mm f/1.8 was announced back in April 2018, and still is not available in the US. When it will, it will sell at $199. In the meantime, ePhotozine posted a review of the Meike 85mm f/1.8 lens. Among the positive aspects of the Meike, the reviewers highlight the very good sharpness, low CA and distortion, and an overall good build quality The next test of the Canon 1.8/85 we conducted 4 years later and this time we used the full frame EOS 1Ds MkIII camera. It features exactly the same linear pixel density like the 20D. Its sensor is much newer, though, and with better software, so the results are by 1-2 lpmm higher than those achieved on the EOS 20D Very good lens. I bought it for indoor sport (karate), and it is very good for it on a 400D. Wide open, it is not that sharp, as could be expected : it's better to center and reframe with a editing tool. 400D has enough pixels for it... I had one or two case of strong CA using it outside and wide open, but never got any when using it indoor, even with white karategi against black wall. It is just long enough to stay away from action and get nice shots. Sometimes, it is a bit too long, for example if you have to take a group photo. However, I wouldn't trade it for a zoom, I like it too much ;-) Canon 85mm 1.2 vs 1.8 Difference 6: Bokeh. The 85mm f/1.2L is known for its creamy bokeh. And the image below illustrates exactly what creamy means. The shape of the 1.2's bokeh is nearly perfectly round. The 1.8, on the other hand, has smushed bokeh. It's actually much closer to the shape the light would be if I had focused on it

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM -Specification - Lenses - Camera ..

Canon EF 85mm F/1.8 USM vs Samyang 85mm F/1.4 AS IF UMC ..

The Canon 85mm f/1.8 is a sturdy smooth-functioning lens that exhibits very good Center Sharpness on both full-frame and sub-frame bodies. Corner Sharpness is good except at the widest apertures. Chromatic Aberration is slightly better than average; Shading is better than average; and Distortion is excellent. Here's a summary of how the Canon 85mm f/1.8 compares with each of the other lenses discussed, using an arbitrary subjective scale as described below: I pixel-peeped the test images I shot, and there is essentially zero color fringing (green or purple), which is an improvement over the much more expensive Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM. Overall exterior build quality is quite nice, with metal lens barrel and 100% metal mount and metal aperture ring Canon EF 85mm ƒ/1.8 USM ~$350 Released in 1992, the Canon comparable lens is getting a bit long in the tooth, and it doesn't provide near the same level of sharpness as the Tamron Reviews & ratings: Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens MFR: 2519A003. Buy now & save $70. AccessoryType: Lenses, Color: Blac canon 85mm + MC-11 vs FE 85mm f/1.8 and more I had the Canon 85 1.8 with metabones IV on a A7 and switched recently to the 85FE. A part of me misses the Canon lens. but I will test it with my AF lenses and report back (of course no eye-AF or any of the advanced AF-C functions with commlite)-- hide signature -

The Shading graphs of Figure 7 show very similar Shading for the Canon 85mm f/1.8 and the Canon 85mm f1.2L. Even so, the f/1.2L does slightly better than the f/1.8 below f/2.8.You cant ask for much more from a lens in this price class. It is very shap, fast, FT manual focus, USM. Images are very good.. excellent in fact and with the 1.8 it is a pleasure in low light. This one is a keeper in my book. I have bought and sold others but this one stays. I use an XT so it is equivalent to a 136 (approx.) 1.8 lens. I have used it at weddings where the light was very poor and it produced good images.

In Figure 18, the Canon 85mm f/1.8 exhibits a better CA performance at f/2.8 and f/4 than that of the Tamron 90mm f/2.8. Over the remainder of the shared aperture spectrum, the two lenses have essentially identical CA performances. Take a look at a more detailed look into the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM. A practical and portability telephoto lens. The EF 85mm f/1.8 USM produces images that are sharp and clear at all apertures. A virtually circular aperture diaphragm gives out-of-focus regions a softer, more even feel, and lets in-focus subjects stand out against a blurred.

Canon FD 85mm f/1

This is a macro lens from Tamron that competes very favorably with the ~100mm macros from various manufacturers.As usual, the corner sharpness, shading and distortion of this lens suffer from the larger image area of a full-frame camera, while Chromatic Aberration is helped somewhat by the 5D's larger pixels. (A full-frame camera with smaller pixels than the 5D would show more Chromatic Aberration.)The Center Sharpness curves of Figure 5 for the Canon 85mm f/1.8 and its "big brother", the Canon 85mm f/1.2L, indicate that the more expensive f/1.2L does indeed outperform the f/1.8 at the widest apertures, particularly those below f/2.8. (Note that the "gap" in the f/1.2L results at f/1.8 is because we did not shoot that lens at an f/1.8 aperture setting.) From f/2.8 through f/16, the f/1.2L still outperforms the f/1.8 in Center Sharpness, but the difference is "not perceptible" according to DxO. Similarly, the f/1.2L significantly outperforms the f/1.8 in Corner Sharpness below f/2.8, and exhibits only slightly better (but nonetheless excellent) corner performance from f/4-f/16. Sharpness. At f/1.2, the Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM achieves pixel level sharpness in the centre of the lens. That's quite an achievement for such a wide aperture, and exciting to use in the field due to it's great isolating potential.. At f/5.6 I believe this is the sharpest lens I have ever used The bottom line is that the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens is simply a very nice lens at a reasonable price.

Where you buy your gear matters. You expect to get what you ordered and you want to pay a low price for it. The retailers I recommend below are the ones I trust for my purchases. Get your Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens now from: I'm liking a lot the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens, I paid 115 dollars for it only . I'd like to buy a new lens in a couple of months, I shoot portraits onlye, do you think the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM would be a wise buy considering that I have the 50mm 1.8 ? Yes! The EF 85mm f1.8 USM is a great lens, and gives lovely results on APS-C

Sony FE 85mm f/1

Both lens are nice lens to have. For 50mm, there is a F/1.4 version and the cost of that lens is similar to the 85mm f/1.8 I have the 50mm f/1.8. The cost of that lens is a lot less expensive than the 85mm f/1.8. The next lens I would like to get is the 85mm f/1.8 This is a very popular low-light prime lens. It has all the sharpness that one expects from a prime lens and USM focusing is always fast and accurate. The only downsides to this lens are a tendency for CA in wide open shots and a slightly long minimum focusing distance that can be a little frustrating.The Canon 85/1.2 II is one of the sharpest lenses overall that we've tested, with excellent performance across the board. It's a little soft wide open, but center sharpness is very good by f/1.4, and even the corners aren't too bad-looking. It's clearly an "ultimate" optic in its focal length range, but is priced accordingly.All things considered, this is a great lens at a very reasonable price. Build quality is similar to the 50mm 1.4, 28mm 1.8, and 100mm 2, which is to say good, not great. The focus ring turns smoothly and the lens features a metal mounting ring, but the barrel is cheap plastic. At f/1.8, the 85mm is soft -- IMO unusable for anything but portraits, admittedly the lens' intended use. Sharpness increases rapidly as the lens is stopped down, and is usable by f/2.5. Autofocus is quick and fairly accurate, I've used this lens for basketball and tennis with mixed results. Probably the most frustrating characteristic of this lens is the minimum focus distance of .85m. I've often wanted to move closer to a subject, only to find that the lens will not autofocus at the intended distance. Thus, I replaced it with the 100mm macro in my kit and haven't looked back for any application.Pros: Very sharp & contrasty, very fast & quiet ring USM, very useable wide open, great bokeh w/ an 8-bladed aperture, reasonable price. Cons: Slight CA at max. aperture, not at its sharpest wide open, also some vignetting at wide apertures even on a cropped sensor body. One of the sharpest lenses I've used, and the very wide maximum aperture makes this lens usable in low-light situations where using flash is not an option. In my experience, it seems sharpness peaks at around f/2.5-4, it improves little when stopped down further. The 8-bladed aperture results in a very nice, non-distracting bokeh for portraiture, although 85mm maybe a little too long when used indoors on a 1.6x FOVCF body. Overall, one of the best bang-for-the-buck primes in the Canon arsenal.

Build quality of the 85 f/1.8 is quite good. The size is small, the weight is light. The 85 f/1.8 is a lens you can use to get great pictures while getting few stares. Hello guys thanks for watching Please subscribe my channel Video shot taking from canon 700D with 85mm f1.8 and samsung galaxy s7 Edit with quik app -~-~~-~~.. While Center Sharpness is very good for the Canon 85mm f/1.8, Corner Sharpness at wide apertures is not! Figure 2 reveals this only too well. At f/1.8 and f/2, the corner performance shows excessive blur on the 20D and the 5D. And at f/2.8, corner performance on both bodies gets a "Visible Blur" raring. From f/4 on, Corner Sharpness on both bodies falls in the "Sharp" to "Slightly Blurred" range. Summarizing, Corner Sharpness for the canon 85mm f/1.8 lens is poor at the wider apertures and satisfactory thereafter. The optical quality is leaps and bounds ahead of Canon's cheaper EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, while its accurate autofocus, great handling and built-in optical image stabilisation are compelling reasons.

Canon EF 85mm f/1test : Canon EF 85mm f/1Canon EF 85mm 1

The Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens is often compared to the Canon EF 100mm f/2.0 USM Lens These two lenses are nearly identical to each other in most facets. I suggest using the focal length as the differentiating factor between them. Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM: an excellent lens with USM auto-focus and very nice bokeh and loved by lots of people, however in my opinion and usage scenarios the 85mm focal length is a bit odd on a crop sensor (136mm equivalent), while suitable on full frame cameras, I'm not sure if I can take this lens on its own for walk. The 50mm and the 60mm (85 and 100mm equivalent) I already have are quite. Hurry Shop Now 85mm CANON 1.8 & all Cameras, Computers, Audio, Video, Accessories. 85mm Canon 1.8

Sigma 85mm f/1

If you are looking for a moderate telephoto lens: BUY THIS ONE!!! Equivalent to a 135mm lens on a dslr, this is one outstanding lens and well worth the money. At f/1.8, it has the speed for virtually any kind of shooting. I'm not sure why Canon also makes an f/1.2 L, but I doubt you will find much reason to spend $1,400 more for a faster lens than a f/1.8 at this focal length. This focal length is very good for portraits, and the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens makes a good portrait lens - excelling at head and head/shoulders portraits when mounted on a 1.3x or 1.6x FOVCF body. The wide f/1.8 aperture can create a dreamy OOF (Out of Focus) background blur. Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Telephoto Lens. Popular Comparisons. Sigma 24-105mm F4.0 Art DG OS HSM Lens for Nikon . vs. Nikon AF-S FX 24-120mm f/4G ED Vibration Reduction Zoom Lens with Auto Focus for Nikon DSLR . Nikon AF-S FX 200-500mm f/5.6E ED Vibration Reduction Zoom Lens.

Tamron 85mm f/1TEST: Peak design capture camera clip V3 – bär smidigt och

That extra girth (and glass) comes at a weight premium. The 45 VC weighed in at 1.2lb/544g, but the weight jumps on the 85 VC to 1.54lb/700g. This is a significant premium over the Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM and its 425g weight, but the Tamron is not only vastly superior optically but also sports a weathersealed, metal construction and an image stabilization system the best lens for portraits u can get for that price. subject in focus simply pop out of the picture. creamy bokeh, very fast AF. working with a prime lens forces you to move your feet and look for your shot. this also enables you to find compositions you wouldn't get in a zoom lens while you're standing in place. a very creative lens that manages to get emotions out of the pictures. there is CA under harsh lighting but it doesnt affect the overall result which is too good for any CA to ruin :-)The Canon 85 1.8 is by far my favorite lens. It is a good focal length for portrait shooting. You will be able to get very good tight head shots. This is a very good low light performer as well. Pictures a pretty sharp wide open and extremely sharp at 2.8 as well. The bokeh is silky smooth and the picture color is stunning. If there is any complaint... I have experienced to what appears to be some purple fringing or CA(chromatic abberation) especially on bright areas of the picture. An explanation that I received from other photographers is that is a artifact from the camera sensor itself. Either way, I feel this is a wondeful lens and is sharper than any other lens that I own. I my current collection is the Canon 17-40L, Canon 50 1.8, Canon 28-135, and Canon 200 2.8L MkI.The Distortion values for the Canon 85mm lens on the sub-frame 20D body are excellent ("Not Perceptible" rating by DxO). The full-frame Average Distortion is also excellent while the Maximum Distortion on the 5D is in the "Visible by an Expert" category according to DxO's ratings. The Canon 85mm f/1.8's Distortion performance receives an "Excellent" rating.The Canon 85mm f/1.8 has a very solid build, albeit perhaps not quite up to that of an "L" lens. Its balance on both bodies resulted in a very comfortable hold. Despite its very large maximum aperture, it isn't a particularly heavy lens, and it seems relatively short for its focal length. The Canon ET-65II lens hood (an accessory) is light and relatively large, a great help in avoiding flare from near-frame light sources. The Canon 85mm f/1.8 is a well-built, good-quality lens.

  • Magersucht babygläschen.
  • Was bedeutet antielitär.
  • Genauigkeit messtechnik.
  • Wetter costa blanca lanzarote.
  • Wie richte ich whatsapp ein.
  • Volvo p1800 zündung einstellen.
  • Https login mailchimp com login post.
  • Das skelett arbeitsblatt.
  • Carsharing hamburg transporter.
  • Zeit gesundheit.
  • Bq gerresheim.
  • Costa blanca urlaub.
  • Bräutigam mehrzahl.
  • Patrouillenboot island klasse.
  • Unfall winterthur grüze.
  • Www nummerologie de.
  • Sehr streng unerbittlich kreuzworträtsel.
  • Vier seiten einer nachricht.
  • Fürther straße 94 nürnberg.
  • Giftig beim einatmen.
  • Proporz deutschland.
  • Rye and dry rezept.
  • Doppelwandfutter 150 verlängert.
  • Frauenarzt münchen innenstadt.
  • Drie gezusters groningen.
  • Motorrad ausflugsziele thüringen.
  • Bayern live stream kostenlos ru.
  • Polarstern finden app.
  • Rituals fleur de himalaya bewertung.
  • Was bedeutet pzw schloss.
  • Lückentext die arbeit des herzens station 4.
  • Whatsapp schrift formatieren.
  • Steven r. mcqueen girlfriend.
  • Https login mailchimp com login post.
  • Haus ohne abwasseranschluss.
  • Faust straße 2 zitate.
  • Fluglärm sencelles mallorca.
  • Media markt großtastentelefon.
  • Av receiver 150 watt pro kanal.
  • Helmaufkleber sanitäter.
  • Teamleistung wette.